Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips

Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips
 
(60 reviews)  

5 stars
 38 review(s)
4 stars
 7 review(s)
3 stars
 4 review(s)
2 stars
 6 review(s)
1 stars
 5 review(s)




You are viewing 5-stars reviews (see all reviews)

Comments & Ratings

Most useful first | Newest first  
38 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Jaw_B
Jun 12, 2013
Bought 2 bags of these chips last week. I found it very disappointing that they arnt as hot as the habanero ones :( But the flavor is just wonderful! Just make em (alot) hotter next time,pretty plz.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (19) / No (0)
Fred H. Pennington III
Mar 4, 2013
If there were a Hall of Flame for hot and spicy snacks, Blair's newest offering, Death Rain Jolokia Cauldron-Cooked Potato Chips would be admitted with unanimous consent. The packaging, with the sinister superimposed skull in the background, is itself a masterpiece of design. Open the bag and peer inside: You will see a uniform coating of a delightfully menacing red on all of the chips, in stark contrast to most hot chips that have a woefully uneven distribution of spices, with a few specks on each chip! The other pleasing visual aspect of Blair's Death Rain Jolokia chips is that there are several impressively large chips, usually on top. So much for aesthetics--looks aren't everything, right? (well.....) These aren't just attractive chips; they are also extremely rich, flavorful chips that pack a marvelous punch, thanks to the mighty jolokia pepper. These are the ultimate hot chip.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (2)
anonymous
May 23, 2013
My 2nd fave chip, behind only the mighty habanero pepper chip. All of Blair's chips will guarantee big pieces, great crunch, and fantastic flavor, and the jolokia chip is no exception - intense paprika and smokiness, with a beautiful heat that creeps up and lingers.

Surprisingly, I find the habanero a little bit hotter, which is a bit disappointing. But the flavor is just that good, that I can't give any less than 5 stars. A must have.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Rome
Apr 10, 2013
This chips are amazing!, wish they where even hotter tho!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (1)
Damien
Sep 15, 2013
Outstanding.

Finally a Chili chip that delivers on heat.
Starts off warm and builds nicely. I had to pause mid way through the bag to blow my nose and wipe away sweat beads.

But it's not heat for the sake of it. there's a wonderful smokey BBQ flavour.
The Ancient Romans used to coat Pigs in tar and set them on fire and send them into enemy troop formations to disrupt them.

I imagine that eating one of those would have tasted much the way these chips do.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
rasta
Dec 8, 2013
These are the best Chips i've ever eaten.
They are so crispy and spicy with a nice hot flavour.
They are not as hot as the habaneros but the heat is strong enough.

But i have to recommend that i will never order them again until you serve bigger Packs to an adequate price...im sorry but i have to say so!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Dave Possberg
May 27, 2014
Absolutely awesome. My daughter and I are Blair's addicts. I would run over senior citizens and push small children out of the way to get my fix!! Having trouble finding them in Canada these days though.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Barbara Wyld
Feb 17, 2013
Worth the burn!! So good!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Chris
Mar 4, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Just ordered these chips the other day. I was hoping that they would have hotter chips and now they do cant wait to taste them. The waiting is killing me lol.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (3)
Mark
Mar 13, 2013
These chips are by far the best yet. I have loved the Habanero bags for years but the smokey goodness of these awesome chips took their place! Sorry Habs, a new cowboys in town!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mike Allard
Apr 13, 2013
I've let quite a few people try my beloved habanero and jolokia chips. Reviews are mixed on the habanero ones (I'd only give those four stars). The jolokia ones, however, have unanimous approval (and are my favorite thing in the Blair's line by far, even beyond my beloved Golden Death and Pure Death). The "unanimous approval" refers to everybody who has had the nerve to try them; even the ones who were visibly in pain and coughing from the heat couldn't resist the urge to try more as soon as the pain stopped. The best part: these are so flavorful that people can enjoy them even if they can't take extreme heat. Mixing crushed chips with sour cream and putting that on a wrap or burrito: doable for anyone who can take medium amounts of heat and, I promise you, it's still worth it. Unbelievable chips. I just wish they had vending size for these also, but then again, I also wish some vending machines around here had Blair's chips.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
aaron mccarthy-reece
Jun 10, 2013
they are the best chilli chips ive had in a long time i went through 3 pack in one sit in
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Michael Blossom
Aug 12, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Best chips ever, I love them.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
timothy
May 22, 2014
U can hardly taste the Jolokia and hor heat rating its about a few notches below par from the habanaro edition. I'm shocked at this price listed I picked up a bag for 4.99 at a local gas station.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
RC
Aug 4, 2014
Why is it taking so long for you guys to make more???? Its been out of stock for months now
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Brandon Siddall
Oct 13, 2014
I just returned home from the local Macks Milk store with not only a bag of your habanero chips whitch are awasome btw. But also a bagg of your jolokia pepper chips witch I found to be just a little hoter then barbecue chips WTF is right. What happened for almost $4.00 CND and them being a boot I thought thay would be way hotter then the habanero.Nope im just left scratching my head...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Mark Melrose
Jan 30, 2015
your Habanero chips are twice as hot as these or I may have got a bummer low heat pack must say dissapointing after a 2 months wait to get these
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
marshall
May 25, 2013
I've tried the 16 million reserve and it was pretty hot, but not very flavorful. sorry it was so f*****g hot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (2)
Shadow Broker
Dec 21, 2013
Wow this thing made my tongue numb with pain, i think this was indeed hotter than the habanero chips, if only slightly, Very good! Now if only someone would make chips using Carolina Reaper ;D

These are very good when you crush em' and mix em' with chili bolognese pasta!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Pat Bechard
Dec 21, 2013
I've just recently had the pleasure trying this new addition to the Blairs Family . Th Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips .Man ! Was I impressed, just enough heat to make it interesting and Lotta flavor..Was an instant hit with me . Love the Habenero chips ,but this is now my new time favorite. Defiantly a step down on heat scale ,but the flavor is just incredible ... Could go on and on , you need to try it on your own . Well worth the money .... Cheers ! to you at Blairs ... Would love to be able even too a quire this rub for my own Special concoctions ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kari Hellsten
Mar 14, 2014
This is just what I want, something between habanero and cheddar chips. Simply great! I think these chips is best for me!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mark Dokurno
Apr 17, 2014
Great flavor but disappointedly mild, I will stick to habanero
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mike the bike
Jul 1, 2014
I think these are great, better than the Habaneros. They are much tastier and the heat is enough as it is. Eating a couple of Jolokia chips gives me a real kick and I feel very much alive.

Im not sure I would appreciate them if they where a lot hotter than they are. Maybe Im just a wuzz?
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jeremy
Aug 1, 2014
Having been a connoiseur of the Habanero chips, I've been anxiously waiting to try these chips for some time since they've been out of stock everywhere for months. Well finally got some and am not disappointed. Flavor wise they are fairly similar to the Habanero chips but without the smoky, bbq flavor. Also absent is the cane sugar which can be subtly tasted in the Hab chips. So overall the flavor is a notch below the Hab's. Heat wise is where these chips really shine. At first I was undecided as to which is hotter. But after going through a few bags of these, there really is no comparison. Eating half a bag brings tears my eyes....and the burn really lasts a long time. These definitely kick it up a big notch in the heat department. I would imagine if you haven't built up a tolerance these would seriously kick your ass.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
J-Me
Sep 29, 2014
I have gone through a number of bags of the habanero chips and more recently a few bags of the Jolokia chips. First couple of times I would agree that the habanero were hotter. I am not sure if they have changed anything but the last bad I had of the Jolokia left me in tears. Love these chips, leave a good burn for half an hour afterwards. Only bad part is the burn at the other end the next day
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)