Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips

Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips
 
(71 reviews)  

5 stars
 49 review(s)
4 stars
 7 review(s)
3 stars
 4 review(s)
2 stars
 6 review(s)
1 stars
 5 review(s)




Comments & Ratings

Most useful first | Newest first  
71 results found
Show results 26 - 50
Brian Deplae
Jul 16, 2013
I received one of the first cases of these which finally shipped after Hurricane Sandy. These have a very strong BBQ flavor, which is great if you like that sort of thing but I’m not the biggest fan of BBQ chips. I was quite disappointed to discover that the heat level of these chips is not what I was expecting and was very inconsistent between bags. Some of them were so mild that I had to check the bag to make sure I wasn’t eating plain old BBQ chips (maybe they were mislabeled). The ones that were hot were not as hot as the Habanero chips (as others have reported too). Considering the price per chip difference I was quite disappointed.

I do realize that some of this may be due to Hurricane Sandy which I believe destroyed most of the first batch and that these may have been rushed through production. If current or future production runs of them will be hotter than the Habanero chips (as these should be) then I will order some more. As it is now I’m sticking with the cheaper Habanero chips.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
John
Nov 8, 2013
Bought a case of these and was disappointed. Does not compare to the Habanero chips (much hotter/tastier) plus it's only available in a smaller bag size. Love Death Sauce & all of the products, but felt a bit jipped w/this purchase..cannot recommend.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rose
Dec 18, 2013
Overall pretty disappointing. The heat was pretty good, but not what I would consider searing. As for the flavor it was really, really dull. Couldn't taste any salt on them. I know it was in there somewhere from looking at the nutrition info, but I couldn't taste it. Also, I like a bit of tart in my spicy food, but this had none of that either. They really just tasted like eating a averagely hot pepper. After I ate the first few chips I ended up liberally sprinkling salt and citric acid on them to give them some flavor. Got bored and didn't finish the bag. Would not buy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Shadow Broker
Dec 21, 2013
Wow this thing made my tongue numb with pain, i think this was indeed hotter than the habanero chips, if only slightly, Very good! Now if only someone would make chips using Carolina Reaper ;D

These are very good when you crush em' and mix em' with chili bolognese pasta!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Pat Bechard
Dec 21, 2013
I've just recently had the pleasure trying this new addition to the Blairs Family . Th Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips .Man ! Was I impressed, just enough heat to make it interesting and Lotta flavor..Was an instant hit with me . Love the Habenero chips ,but this is now my new time favorite. Defiantly a step down on heat scale ,but the flavor is just incredible ... Could go on and on , you need to try it on your own . Well worth the money .... Cheers ! to you at Blairs ... Would love to be able even too a quire this rub for my own Special concoctions ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kari Hellsten
Mar 14, 2014
This is just what I want, something between habanero and cheddar chips. Simply great! I think these chips is best for me!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mark Dokurno
Apr 17, 2014
Great flavor but disappointedly mild, I will stick to habanero
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lost Swede In Oz
May 2, 2014
Not bad, chip it self was good but the heat was a walk in the park, otherwise a very nice chip. Best part is that no one at home or work will touch them again as they have learnt the hard way HaHa. These are for chilli heads only!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mike the bike
Jul 1, 2014
I think these are great, better than the Habaneros. They are much tastier and the heat is enough as it is. Eating a couple of Jolokia chips gives me a real kick and I feel very much alive.

Im not sure I would appreciate them if they where a lot hotter than they are. Maybe Im just a wuzz?
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jeremy
Aug 1, 2014
Having been a connoiseur of the Habanero chips, I've been anxiously waiting to try these chips for some time since they've been out of stock everywhere for months. Well finally got some and am not disappointed. Flavor wise they are fairly similar to the Habanero chips but without the smoky, bbq flavor. Also absent is the cane sugar which can be subtly tasted in the Hab chips. So overall the flavor is a notch below the Hab's. Heat wise is where these chips really shine. At first I was undecided as to which is hotter. But after going through a few bags of these, there really is no comparison. Eating half a bag brings tears my eyes....and the burn really lasts a long time. These definitely kick it up a big notch in the heat department. I would imagine if you haven't built up a tolerance these would seriously kick your ass.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
SL
Sep 19, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
For those who can't find the heat on these chips, I think I found it: It's at the bottom of the bag in the "chip dust"!

Eating the chips one by one is a delightful and delicious experience, but not an overly spicy one. The yummy chips just seem to be the appetizer for the searing crumbs at the bottom of the bag.

I tipped the last of that bag into my mouth and soon it was on fire for a good five minutes; eyes watered, face flushed, whole deal.

I have a feeling the chips themselves must be spicier when they are first made, but the bit of Jolokia seasoning doesn't stick, and it's falling to the bottom of the bag during the jostling of shipping afterward. Just a theory.

Regardless, these are yummy.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
J-Me
Sep 29, 2014
I have gone through a number of bags of the habanero chips and more recently a few bags of the Jolokia chips. First couple of times I would agree that the habanero were hotter. I am not sure if they have changed anything but the last bad I had of the Jolokia left me in tears. Love these chips, leave a good burn for half an hour afterwards. Only bad part is the burn at the other end the next day
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ron Jeremy
Oct 30, 2014
They have a good taste and I love crunchy chips but with a name like Jolokia (ghost pepper) you're expecting way way hotter. I can understand that there is only so much a chip can absorb to be hot but still the way they marketed these was so some idiots around a water cooler could brag.

They do get hot near the end of the bag and like say the green chili peppers in local grocery stores from Thailand (birds whatever kind) the heat does build up like people are saying but it's like if some kid says he can play a very difficult song on guitar without missing a note and he does an ok job but it could be better. I can understand at the same time you don't want them to be too hot otherwise it's just throwing money away as well though. We want to have an enjoyable factor to it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
John C
Dec 19, 2014
Sorry guys you have not tasted these chips. ate the whole bag and they did nothing for me. They had one fourth the heat when compared to Habanero Chips. Seriously try again PLEASE
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
yo
Dec 30, 2014
very good! hot but not ridiculous so still taste flavor
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Russell Brown
Mar 19, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
My wife and I truly love the chips Blair's make and they are definitely addicting. Would give them 5 stars, but just wish the bags were a little bigger, and the chips a little hotter. Other than that, these have to be by far the greatest chips you will ever eat if you love spicy food. Just ordered my second case 3/19/15.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Alan
Mar 28, 2015
I think the Jolokia Pepper chips are great, personally. The flavor is killer. I, as other reviewers have stated, agree that they are not as hot as the habanero's.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
BARRY MELCHER
May 27, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
There are a couple problems with these chips. The first is, like many have already stated before me, is they are simply not as hot as the habanero chips. This is indeed disappointing as one would expect them to be hotter. However, the biggest problem I had with these chips is I bought an entire case of them and they are most certainly stale. I bought a case of the habanero chips, and they are not stale, so it's painfully obvious how stale the chips are. In fact, the bags themselves seem somewhat deflated. The final issue with the chips (which is a minor one) is the cost. $30 for 14 bags of 5 oz. habanero chips is fine, but this is 14 bags of 3 oz. chips for $42.00. Combined with the less than spicy taste, and the staleness of the chip, this is certainly not a chip I will be purchasing again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Anita
Jul 24, 2015
Wow, I have had these before and they were excellent and extremely hot. they were out of stock for a while, finally I could find them again. I paid $50 for 4 3ounce bags. I would not have minded the price if they were the same as before. They taste like paprika chips. no heat. the habanero ones are hotter now. I will try to return the rest. what a waste of time and money. Sorry to all my friends that were excited waiting for the arrival.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tweakings
Sep 16, 2015
I have been a fan of Blair's since I first entered a Fat Bastard Burrito here in Toronto Canada; I began to buy Habanero chips, thanks for teaching me about heat. Since then I also began to eat raw Ghost Pepper salsa, crazy person that I am.

Anways, to clarify. I see a lot of naysayers ... that there's "no heat," in these Jolokia Pepper chips. I just had my first bag yesterday.

My review? No heat into 3/4 of the bag, but perhaps because that was due to the cheese of my previously eaten burrito or the hot sauce they use at the Fat Bastard: Habanero and Ghost pepper combo.

So I began to munch on these chips and found out by the end of the bag, when I began to eat the spices on the bottom, a heat that I have never experienced before!

My mouth was on fire, with more intensity and longer duration than other chili head product I've tried before; and then, as I made a phone call, my mouth was numb all over for the next ten, fifteen minutes.

Thanks to Fat Bastard Burrito and Blair's Death Rain Potato Chips, I can have a satisfying meal and then finish off with even more after-meal intensity, Jolokia Pepper Potato Chips.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rick
Sep 29, 2015
I also find that the Habanero chips are hotter than these are. They are both good, but I will be buying only Habanero chips until Blair makes a Scorpion Pepper or Carolina Reaper chip!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
rdbaron2
Nov 18, 2015
I have to agree with other lower rated reviews of these chips. They aren't even close to hitting the level of the Habanero chips. I was very disappointed with the heat. I was expecting more heat than Habanero. The flavor for the chips is good however. I would only give them a 3/4 level on the hot meter on the bag, not the WTF as listed. I would NOT buy these chip again unless they fix the heat to where is should be being Jolokia pepper chips. Blair, you gotta fix this!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Anita Cole
Jan 19, 2016
I waited so long for these. I contacted Blairs they said the Jolokia peppers were below par. When the chips were finally available, i bought some bags at premium price.I bragged how good they were, when they arrived family came over to test. I was embarrased, even my 3yr old grandaughter tasted with no shock.They were like paprika. something went wrong and Blairs never responded. I loved the old Jolokia chips but these are sub par to any pepper. Wasted my time and money, and was embarrassed.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rob Colbert
Apr 30, 2016
Sadly dissapointed. Heat? What heat!
Flavour 9/10. I will buy these again but only for the flavour and then add some of my own Death Sauce to heat things up a little. Still a mad suppkrter of Blairs despite the review on these chips
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Paul
Jul 1, 2016
Very disappointed received as father day gift. Your habinaro chips where hot great taste so I looked forward to eating the jolka pepper chips super let down very disappointed no hotter the store bought hot Chip's. I have been a serious extreme Chile head for many years. Love your sauces
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)