Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips

Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips
 
(83 reviews)  

5 stars
 61 review(s)
4 stars
 7 review(s)
3 stars
 4 review(s)
2 stars
 6 review(s)
1 stars
 5 review(s)




Comments & Ratings

Most useful first | Newest first  
83 results found
Show results 51 - 75
SL
Sep 19, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
For those who can't find the heat on these chips, I think I found it: It's at the bottom of the bag in the "chip dust"!

Eating the chips one by one is a delightful and delicious experience, but not an overly spicy one. The yummy chips just seem to be the appetizer for the searing crumbs at the bottom of the bag.

I tipped the last of that bag into my mouth and soon it was on fire for a good five minutes; eyes watered, face flushed, whole deal.

I have a feeling the chips themselves must be spicier when they are first made, but the bit of Jolokia seasoning doesn't stick, and it's falling to the bottom of the bag during the jostling of shipping afterward. Just a theory.

Regardless, these are yummy.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
RC
Aug 4, 2014
Why is it taking so long for you guys to make more???? Its been out of stock for months now
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jeremy
Aug 1, 2014
Having been a connoiseur of the Habanero chips, I've been anxiously waiting to try these chips for some time since they've been out of stock everywhere for months. Well finally got some and am not disappointed. Flavor wise they are fairly similar to the Habanero chips but without the smoky, bbq flavor. Also absent is the cane sugar which can be subtly tasted in the Hab chips. So overall the flavor is a notch below the Hab's. Heat wise is where these chips really shine. At first I was undecided as to which is hotter. But after going through a few bags of these, there really is no comparison. Eating half a bag brings tears my eyes....and the burn really lasts a long time. These definitely kick it up a big notch in the heat department. I would imagine if you haven't built up a tolerance these would seriously kick your ass.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mike the bike
Jul 1, 2014
I think these are great, better than the Habaneros. They are much tastier and the heat is enough as it is. Eating a couple of Jolokia chips gives me a real kick and I feel very much alive.

Im not sure I would appreciate them if they where a lot hotter than they are. Maybe Im just a wuzz?
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
EL
Jul 1, 2014
This isn't even close to the Habanero-version which is much hotter... I thought it was supposed to be the other way around?
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Dave Possberg
May 27, 2014
Absolutely awesome. My daughter and I are Blair's addicts. I would run over senior citizens and push small children out of the way to get my fix!! Having trouble finding them in Canada these days though.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
timothy
May 22, 2014
U can hardly taste the Jolokia and hor heat rating its about a few notches below par from the habanaro edition. I'm shocked at this price listed I picked up a bag for 4.99 at a local gas station.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Lost Swede In Oz
May 2, 2014
Not bad, chip it self was good but the heat was a walk in the park, otherwise a very nice chip. Best part is that no one at home or work will touch them again as they have learnt the hard way HaHa. These are for chilli heads only!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mark Dokurno
Apr 17, 2014
Great flavor but disappointedly mild, I will stick to habanero
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kari Hellsten
Mar 14, 2014
This is just what I want, something between habanero and cheddar chips. Simply great! I think these chips is best for me!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Pat Bechard
Dec 21, 2013
I've just recently had the pleasure trying this new addition to the Blairs Family . Th Death Rain Jolokia Pepper Chips .Man ! Was I impressed, just enough heat to make it interesting and Lotta flavor..Was an instant hit with me . Love the Habenero chips ,but this is now my new time favorite. Defiantly a step down on heat scale ,but the flavor is just incredible ... Could go on and on , you need to try it on your own . Well worth the money .... Cheers ! to you at Blairs ... Would love to be able even too a quire this rub for my own Special concoctions ...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Shadow Broker
Dec 21, 2013
Wow this thing made my tongue numb with pain, i think this was indeed hotter than the habanero chips, if only slightly, Very good! Now if only someone would make chips using Carolina Reaper ;D

These are very good when you crush em' and mix em' with chili bolognese pasta!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Rose
Dec 18, 2013
Overall pretty disappointing. The heat was pretty good, but not what I would consider searing. As for the flavor it was really, really dull. Couldn't taste any salt on them. I know it was in there somewhere from looking at the nutrition info, but I couldn't taste it. Also, I like a bit of tart in my spicy food, but this had none of that either. They really just tasted like eating a averagely hot pepper. After I ate the first few chips I ended up liberally sprinkling salt and citric acid on them to give them some flavor. Got bored and didn't finish the bag. Would not buy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
rasta
Dec 8, 2013
These are the best Chips i've ever eaten.
They are so crispy and spicy with a nice hot flavour.
They are not as hot as the habaneros but the heat is strong enough.

But i have to recommend that i will never order them again until you serve bigger Packs to an adequate price...im sorry but i have to say so!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
NotSoHotSadface
Nov 26, 2013
I feel lied to. I've had paprika crisps that were hotter.

These crisps are not even close to the hotness of Habanero.

The fact that it says that: "This product is intended for experienced chiliheads only!!!" made me believe I had found my match after the Habaneros.

Sigh, even stuffing a handful in your face barely makes your tongue tingle where a single Habanero crisp does.

I want my money back, or rather, a bag of Habaneros! >:(
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (19) / No (11)
John
Nov 8, 2013
Bought a case of these and was disappointed. Does not compare to the Habanero chips (much hotter/tastier) plus it's only available in a smaller bag size. Love Death Sauce & all of the products, but felt a bit jipped w/this purchase..cannot recommend.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
rasta
Oct 19, 2013
Yea, this is really great flavour but i missed the heat of the habanero chips..
Yes, the Jolokia'd where hot but not as hot as the habbanero chips.
Therefor they taste a bit better but the packs are too small!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Damien
Sep 15, 2013
Outstanding.

Finally a Chili chip that delivers on heat.
Starts off warm and builds nicely. I had to pause mid way through the bag to blow my nose and wipe away sweat beads.

But it's not heat for the sake of it. there's a wonderful smokey BBQ flavour.
The Ancient Romans used to coat Pigs in tar and set them on fire and send them into enemy troop formations to disrupt them.

I imagine that eating one of those would have tasted much the way these chips do.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Michael Blossom
Aug 12, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Best chips ever, I love them.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Brian Deplae
Jul 16, 2013
I received one of the first cases of these which finally shipped after Hurricane Sandy. These have a very strong BBQ flavor, which is great if you like that sort of thing but I’m not the biggest fan of BBQ chips. I was quite disappointed to discover that the heat level of these chips is not what I was expecting and was very inconsistent between bags. Some of them were so mild that I had to check the bag to make sure I wasn’t eating plain old BBQ chips (maybe they were mislabeled). The ones that were hot were not as hot as the Habanero chips (as others have reported too). Considering the price per chip difference I was quite disappointed.

I do realize that some of this may be due to Hurricane Sandy which I believe destroyed most of the first batch and that these may have been rushed through production. If current or future production runs of them will be hotter than the Habanero chips (as these should be) then I will order some more. As it is now I’m sticking with the cheaper Habanero chips.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sid R.
Jun 25, 2013
Crunchy and flavorful. 4 Stars instead of 5 because the product description makes it sound like these are hotter than the Habanero chips, but they are not. Wish they were much hotter.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Gavin
Jun 15, 2013
Initially disappointing, however heat builds nicely, lacks the" wow" factor of the Habanero's. Good chip !
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (8) / No (2)
Jaw_B
Jun 12, 2013
Bought 2 bags of these chips last week. I found it very disappointing that they arnt as hot as the habanero ones :( But the flavor is just wonderful! Just make em (alot) hotter next time,pretty plz.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (20) / No (0)
aaron mccarthy-reece
Jun 10, 2013
they are the best chilli chips ive had in a long time i went through 3 pack in one sit in
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
marshall
May 25, 2013
I've tried the 16 million reserve and it was pretty hot, but not very flavorful. sorry it was so f*****g hot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (2)